K-Pop demo songs vs original songs

Posted on

While some idol groups produce, compose, and write the lyrics to their own songs, other groups use songs written by some of the best musicians in the industry. Often times, producers release snippets of the demo versions of K-Pop songs before their release. Check out these K-Pop demo songs below that feature English lyrics!

Red Velvet – Ice Cream Cake

In December 2012, Hayley Aitken and producing team Trinity Music showed a 21-second demo version of “Ice Cream Cake” on an episode of a Swedish TV show ‘Kobra.’ The demo version was purchased by SM Entertainment and Korean lyrics were added by songwriter Jo Yoon Kyung and Kim Dong Hyun. 

EXO – Monster

EXO’s “Monster” was written and composed by Kenzie and LDN Noise. It was produced as a dark and intense medium-tempo dance song that portrayed a man’s obsession with his lover. 

TWICE – Signal 

While JYP collaborated with Kairos to write and compose “Signal,” making it the first TWICE song to be written by JYP. The song captures the emotions of a girl who sends “signals” to her lover, who does not notice her attempts to express her feelings. 

EXO – Ko Ko Bop

“Ko Ko Bop” is an energetic reggae song produced by Style Fuego and co-written by Chen, Chanyeol, and Baekhyun. Shaylen Carroll, one of the female composers, did the demo and it was supposed to be for a girl group. Eventually, the reggae-pop song went to EXO. 

f(x) – 4 Walls

Jam Factory member Lee Seuran wrote the song, while LDN Noise, Tay Jasper, and Adrian McKinnon assisted in composing and producing the song. “4 Walls” has a heavy electronic dance music influence, and is characterized by its tropical house sounds. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *